Pie with a Heart in the Middle

Baby don’t be blue

Gonna make for you
Gonna make a pie with a heart in the middle
Gonna be a pie from the heaven above
Gonna be filled with strawberry love
Baby Don’t You Cry from Waitress – 2007

Today I took a day off and just as well as I was having a Fat-Day. ( The kind that could only be aided along with two chocolate eclairs, a family bag of Twiglets and Ben and Jerry’s Phish food. ) It was one of those horrible days that just don’t really want to work. Yet as my flatmate had an even worse day, I thought I should probably pull myself together at some point and make dinner. I popped a DVD in the player for some company and got completely hooked.
The film Waitress has the wonderful Keri Russell in it. (She of Felicity fame, though I was more a Dawson girl myself. Who could have thunk what would happen to pretty Katie Holmes aka Joey Potter! But I’m digressing…)
The story tells about a waitress with a pie making gift in the South of the States. She is trapped in an unhappy marriage when she finds out she’s pregnant and the subsequential events are funny, moving and perhaps despite the setting edging towards un-American. A little like Little Miss Sunshine, but with even less of an obvious effort to be quirky.
The lady to credit is Adrienne Shelly; who wrote and directed this movie as well as acted in it as the shy, insecure but lovable colleague waitress Dawn. In her I have found a true new hero. Adrienne was clearly multi-talented (she also wrote the main song that is quoted above) She is an inspiration; clever writing, fringe yet open to mainstream, songwriting, funny, directing gorgeous visuals and it centres around sweet food -perfect! Sadly, Adrienne was killed in 2006 before her film came out. Her husband founded the Adrienne Shelly Foundation in her honour: http://www.adrienneshellyfoundation.org/
If you haven’t seen Waitress, go and rent it this weekend. You’ll love it.

Leave a comment