30 1/3

Six months ago, I wrote my last blog entry and since then I have entered another decade. So here I stand before you: 30 1/3 years old.

My very first note, aptly titled First Note, is dated October 2008 when I was 23. Over the years, I have had flurries of writing and silences: the silences here often indicate activity in life. This time it is not much different with a new decade, a boy, a theatre company, a paid job, ups, downs: the whole rollercoaster ride. In fact, not dissimilar to seven years ago and if  was I waiting for adulthood to pour upon me then, I have come to realise that this must be it. There is no other level. No secret door, no certificates, no ceremony. Dang!

One day it’s just here and it doesn’t feel like it should be it: yet suddenly you realise that the ones you perceive as adults are bumbling about in similar fashion to oneself. Hallelujah, you made it, just try not to be underwhelmed by it: you are like everyone else. Going through the same motions ( even if they are personalised and tweaked to suit people’s lifestyles) and asking ourselves the same questions (even if the timing of the questions can differ).

A new decade comes with new expectations, new dreams and new challenges. After adjusting to so many new things, I have finally come back up for air. Juggling all the have-to’s, must-do’s, should have’s and want’s, I had forgotten that I like to write and I am back to rekindle the love.

Leave a comment